It's today! Launch Day for The Lost Art of Reverie!

I love launch days! It’s so fun to finally release a book into the world, after months or years of work. (This one took years… I wrote the first draft in 2017, but kept back-burnering it to focus on World Whisperer.)

I’ve been hearing the kindest, sweetest responses to this little fledgling bird.

One reader said that the only word she can use for it is “cozy.” Another said it’s like you just want to tuck away and be in Aveline with new friends. And another said it is “fun, insightful and delightful… therapy in a beautiful bouquet.”

And a lovely reviewer on Amazon said “Rae doesn't just tell a story, she invites us into the lives, hearts and minds of her characters.”

That is exactly what I hope to do.

Buy or borrow the ebook version of The Lost Art of Reverie here.

Buy the paperback version here.

Or here.

Love to you all,

Rae

Announcing a new pen name and book launch! : The Lost Art of Reverie, by Rae Walsh

image006.jpg

I’m very excited to tell you about my newest book, a culmination of lots of dreaming and thinking about new ways to write and work.

This series is fairly different from my other books, so I’m writing with a new pen name, a mixture of my nickname and my mother’s maiden name. (Meaning that my writing names are a mash up of my married name, my maiden name, and my mother’s maiden name. All the names! I want all of them!)

Rae Walsh writes inspirational romantic women's fiction. If you like cozy writing about friendship, art and cooking, new starts in life, quirky, diverse characters, close-knit communities in small towns, and small businesses, you will love this series. Rae’s books are light and romantic, with deeper social and spiritual themes intertwined.

(Sounds like me, right? Basically I started out to write a simple romance and got a whole lot of quirky, nuanced characters clamoring away in my head.)

The Lost Art of Reverie, is the first book in a series about a fictional small town in California named Aveline. Each book focuses especially on a few characters from the town, and each book builds on another.

Here’s the blurb:

An inheritance. A long forgotten dream. A new life in a spacious place.

Corporate life has not been treating Katie Grace well. Suffering from extreme anxiety due to a recent incident at work, she learns that she has inherited her late grandmother’s Victorian house in the lake town of Aveline, in the rolling hills of the Los Padres National Forest. Maybe a new start will be exactly what she needs.

Hardware store owner Sam Grant remembers Katie from when they spent summers together, years before. Sam has determined never to get involved in a relationship again, but working on Katie’s house renovations might put that resolve to the test. 

In Aveline, Katie allows herself to dream again, finding solace in creating food and a space for her new friends to gather. As members of the town welcome Katie, her heart begins to find safety, but will the events of the past repeat themselves? 

The Lost Art of Reverie is the first book in the Aveline Series, a collection of inspirational romantic stories with quirky, lovable characters, set in a fictional lake town in California. Perfect for fans of Jan Karon, Katherine Center, or Elizabeth Berg. 

So here’s the thing. I’m releasing the whole series in KDP Select on Amazon, which means it will be available in Kindle Unlimited, (good for you subscribers) but will be exclusive to Amazon until the whole series is published (not good for those of you who read on other devices.)

What I’ve set up is a pre-release of the book on Patreon, where all my patrons will get this first ebook free, in any ebook format, from July 7-14. Then the book will hit Amazon stores and the Kindle Unlimited Library on July 15th. To download The Lost Art of Reverie, in any format, before it’s in the Kindle store, you just need to be a patron. You can head over here to become a patron now, and you’ll get an email once the book is available for download on the 7th.

If you’re happy with Kindle, you can wait until the 15th and buy your book on the Amazon store. Paperback versions will also be available.

And if you’re shaking your head because you’re waiting for the next World Whisperer book, I promise that it’s coming! I will never stop writing YA fantasy. (I have many ideas for the series I’ll write after World Whisperer, and it’s in the same universe.)

So there you go, dear ones. Thank you for being the best readers in the world.

xo

Rae

How it goes.

IMG_3867.JPG

I always start my days with writing.

I’m working on a new project, one I will tell you about soon. It’s a new series of books and at first I thought I would write under a pen name, but I have decided to accept the tangle of genres that I write, and publish these books as myself.

My plan is to finish the first draft of the book I am working on and then jump right into the first draft of World Whisperer Book 5. It’s helpful to work on something different in between, actually. It’s like the ginger in between bites of sushi.

After I write new words in the morning, I move into writing blog posts or newsletters. I’m working on a couple doozies of blog posts now, so I go into those documents and fix a few things, add a few lines, try to make them live a little more, then write a few lines of a newsletter. I am easily overwhelmed. I do my best writing little bits. 

Then Isaac waltzes into the studio and it’s time to get up and shift gears, to get him some breakfast and make sure the clothes he’s wearing are somewhat suitable. To make sure the other kids are getting ready for the day, eating, drinking tea, finding their school books. Isaac goes off to school and other kids come over for readalouds and English class. Or maybe Chinua handles that and I go off to guide meditation. Or it is a gardening day at Shekina, so I buy some plants and drive around the hill to plant them.

The day is in full swing. It careens around until bedtime, when I lie flat on my back staring at the ceiling, or when I fall asleep lying next to Isaac, his warm little arm around my neck. 

Often, these days, when I’m driving on the motorbike, I get lured away. After I bring Isaac to school, I might find that I need to see the sky from a different direction, or the view from the next hill. The sky is so perfectly blue. The branches so jagged and they reach, reach as far as they can. The road bakes in the sun and the breezes lift my hair off my neck, and I am reminded of beautiful days and years from the past, and all of it is almost too much. 

Eventually I come back home, to joke and puns and boys with springs in their legs. We comb through tangly bits of offenses and hurt feelings from siblings. We dance. We make a lot of messes. I can be grumpy and easily overwhelmed. And there is so much love. Love and words and blue skies. I am thankful.